Here’s Harvey Hound

Harvey by Deb Fletcher
Harvey by Deb Fletcher

As a child we always had a dog at home.  They came in all shapes and sizes and some lasted longer than others – sometimes we resembled a half way house for disadvantaged dogs who then went on to pastures new.

When I left home there never seemed a good time to have one in my own home.  Either ‘home’ was too small, or I couldn’t afford it, or someone had an allergy and so it went on.  Two years ago I thought it’s now or never and a chance meeting in a car park with the cutest dog I’d ever seen sealed it for me.  I wanted a goldendoodle!  They looked cute as a Disney dog, didn’t moult (I’m not overly fond of hoovering) and would get me out and about rampaging along beaches and countryside as my furry companion.

Harvey by Deb Fletcher
Harvey by Deb Fletcher

The reality is Harvey is now the size of a polar bear, takes hours of grooming and in a car is sick as the proverbial dog! He ate the kitchen – and most of the garden, and the cat despises him.  The delightful lady at puppy training reassured me he will improve with age only I’m not sure the house (or the cat) will survive until this miracle happens!!

Harvey by Deb Fletcher
Harvey by Deb Fletcher

 

I love him dearly, he is full of fun and energy and makes me smile every time I look at him.  On a walk everyone stops us for a chat and a fuss…  and he doubles up as a blanket when he climbs on to my knee for a cuddle!

Harvey by Deb Fletcher
Harvey by Deb Fletcher

 

25 thoughts

  1. Reblogged this on Suzie81 Speaks and commented:
    Hi all! I’d like you to meet Deb – after developing ideas for a blog for a while, she has published this – her very first set of posts! She’s a wonderful writer and very talented photographer… I’d love it if you could hop on over, introduce yourself and say hello! Do your thing, WordPress!

    Like

  2. I too have a ‘golden doodle’ which we call Groodle in Australia and wow, he is the light of my life! Thankfully my doesn’t shed hair but I do have him shaved at least once a year and he looks so cute and funny when he has short hair. My boy, Brady, is almost 7 and I hate every birthday he has because I don’t want him to get old!! Your boy is absolutely gorgeous and I wish I could give him a huuuuuge cuddle!

    Like

    1. I’m passing on your virtual cuddle to Harvey as we speak. Harvey has been shaved a couple of times – this was before I realised his fur was like a bad perm and needed de-fuzzing on a regular basis! We now trot down the garden to my ‘retreat’ (which doubles as a dog grooming parlour) where I get out the scissors and release my inner hairdresser on him. I’ve promised him the day he goes out and starts earning a living I will start to pay again for him to visit a proper parlour. I hope for the day he looks as calm and well behaved as Brady does in your photo. Your love for each other just glows in that shot.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

