Finding Your Joy

I spent many years with a deeply troubled man.  I loved him very much and thought my love could help bring him peace and happiness.  I devoted myself to making a home for us, to ‘rescuing’ him from a succession of problems he got himself in to and to trying to make him happy.  Needless to say it did not end well and when we parted I felt I had let him down, had failed him.

It took a long time for me to realise that your love can’t make another person happy.  The capacity to feel love and be joyful is in our own hands and not reliant on someone else. Amongst all the effort I made for him I forgot about myself and my own joy.  My life started again and I’ve been looking for what makes me happy and it comes in the simplest of ways, in small pleasures.

So here are some of my small pleasures ..

  • Good bread – crusty, rustic & preferably still warm from the oven
  • Big soft white towels in the bathroom – like a hug after a shower
  • Crisp, clean bedding that’s been line dried
  • Hot chocolate in my favourite mug

tumblr_mfz0mvxIGt1r4u4bpo1_250

  • My garden full of roses, lavender & my fruit patch
  • Birds, butterflies & bees
  • Dancing round the kitchen with Harvey Hound
  • Singing in the car with the windows down

58358db5dfda77a53681117bb24ab974

  • The Moon
  • Thunderstorms
  • Candlelight
  • Twinkly fairy lights

twinkly lights

  • Log fires
  • The smell of oranges
  • The month of June
  • Kindness
  • Breakfast – the smell of bacon on a Sunday morning

tumblr_miwdaxppUu1qjhe3mo1_250

  • Snowflakes
  • The sound of the ocean
  • A cool pillow on a warm night

I hope you find your Joy x

 

Leave a Reply

