By the Beach

I love a day by the beach.  Salty sea air, waves pounding on the sand and a chance to get my camera out of mothballs and see if it still works.  An early start and I headed North to Saltburn-by-the-Sea where I started my mini adventure.  There’s a great pier at Saltburn so I took the opportunity to get some shots in.

Saltburn Pier by Deb Fletcher
Saltburn Pier by Deb Fletcher
Surfs Up by Deb Fletcher
Surfs Up by Deb Fletcher
Storm Clouds by Deb Fletcher
Storm Clouds by Deb Fletcher

 

Heading down to Port Mulgrave, an old fishing village.  One of the beach huts had this display of pebbles outside on the decking.

Pebbles by Deb Fletcher
Pebbles by Deb Fletcher

Time for a coffee and cake stop at the beachside cafe at Runswick Bay.  A beautiful little place, like a mini Cornwall. This image is of the old lifeboat station ramp.

image by Deb Fletcher
image by Deb Fletcher

Onwards to my favourite spot at Sandsend.  A fabulous beach leading all the way down to Whitby.  And when the tide is out it reveals skeletal groins jutting out to sea.

Beach at Sandsend by Deb Fletcher
Beach at Sandsend by Deb Fletcher

It’s late now so just one more stop on this adventure – Saltwick Bay.  The beach here is reached by a very steep climb down a rocky path.  The reward for the effort is an old shipwreck and a well photographed rock formation called the Nab.

Wreck by Deb Fletcher
Wreck by Deb Fletcher
The Nab by Deb Fletcher
The Nab by Deb Fletcher

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve ‘tweaked’ my images to try and give a more fine art feel to them – I’m still a work in progress so bear with me!!

Leave a Reply

