Have a Hug on Me

Today is World Kindness Day.  A day we can celebrate thinking of others (and ourselves) and offering empathy and support for no reason other than we want to.

But when did kindness become something we needed reminding about?  Is it not a natural instinct to give away for free to all we come across just because ..

Why is it so difficult to live a kind life and treat ourselves, as well as others, with warmth and affection?  There are plenty of heart warming tales of ‘random acts of kindness’ which give us a fuzzy feeling that someone cared enough to do a good deed.  We are just waiting for our opportunity to show we are capable and willing to do the same – aren’t we?

I’m not an unkind person but I’ll admit to having the kindness drained out of me in the last 20 years.  The ex ‘love of my life’ was once overheard telling someone he thought I was the kindest most self-sacrificing person he knew – that was just before I discovered he was having an affair with 2 other women. That froze my kind heart for a long time!

I’ve been in training though to thaw out that block of ice inside my chest.  There’s hope for me yet.

I wish you all a wonderful weekend and come let me give you a hug to send you on your way

 

Leave a Reply

