When the World Stood Still ..

I posted this last year.  I’ve no new words, the horror doesn’t lessen ..

 

 

I’d been to New York a few times, being a travel agent had it’s perks.

It wasn’t love at first sight … the people were loud and abrupt, it looked dirty and rundown and sirens howled all night long no doubt on their way to some horror story that wouldn’t even make it on to the morning news.

But that was over 25 years ago and visits since then saw a change – in the city and in my feelings for it.  It cleaned up it’s act, it became safe to walk through Central Park in daylight, the people were still ‘loud and abrupt’ but I started to understand the personality that came along with it.

My last visit was one March, cold and snowy but I was excited to be back for a few days.  I stayed in the Waldorf Astoria, it was on my wish list – the room was basic but I didn’t care, I was there and loving every minute!  As I walked through the lobby one morning the perfume of flowers hit me, there was a wedding in the hotel that day and during the night the whole place had been turned in to a garden paradise.  Urns of roses and peonies, lilies, and huge pots of lavender.  Must have cost the earth ..

image by Deb Fletcher
image by Deb Fletcher

My aim that day was, once again, to go visit the World Trade Centre.  I’d been several times and got as far as the top but never been outside on the roof.  The weather had always got in the way and they wouldn’t let us out there.  This visit I took my time and had a meander round the Centre before trying my luck again.  I bought some undies in Victoria’s Secret – I just wanted the lovely pink striped bag to be honest and doubted I’d ever wear the lace creation the sales girl had helped me pick out.  After a stop for coffee the waiter I’d been chatting with wished me well on my quest to get on to the roof and I started my long climb.  I was in luck, although it was freezing down on the pavement there was no wind and they were letting visitors on to the roof outside.

image by Deb Fletcher
image by Deb Fletcher

 

image by Deb Fletcher
image by Deb Fletcher

It took my breath away, it was so still, so quiet.  Looking down over the edge there was a small plane flying below, the Statue of Liberty in the distance.  I was so high up.  I must have been there for a long while as the sun was starting to set.  But for a moment the whole World stood still and I thought this is the nearest to Heaven I could get.

image by Deb Fletcher
image by Deb Fletcher

 

Six months later the World stood still again ..

Watching the silent TV monitors at work, tears rolling down my face.  How could this be happening.  Someone shouted my name, he needed to go make a call as his brother worked in one of the towers ..  he couldn’t get through.

As the tragic events unfolded I thought of the sales girl in Victoria’s Secret and the waiter who served me my coffee and hoped they were ok.  I don’t often pray but that day I prayed to any God who would listen to help everyone in there.  Driving home that night I turned on the radio for updates and Sting started to sing Fragile ..

If blood will flow when flesh and steel are one
Drying in the colour of the evening sun
Tomorrow’s rain will wash the stains away
But something in our minds will always stay
Perhaps this final act was meant
To clinch a lifetime’s argument
That nothing comes from violence and nothing ever could
For all those born beneath an angry star
Lest we forget how fragile we are

On and on the rain will fall
Like tears from a star like tears from a star
On and on the rain will say
How fragile we are how fragile we are

On and on the rain will fall
Like tears from a star like tears from a star
On and on the rain will say
How fragile we are how fragile we are
How fragile we are how fragile we are

I won’t ever forget when the World stood still .. no-one will

our thoughts are with you
our thoughts are with you

 

 

 

8 thoughts

  1. You paid tribute very well, Deb, in thoughts and photos. Thanks for sharing. This New Yorker, living upstate in Syracuse but always with a heart for the Big Apple, appreciates it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

