The Words Every Woman Dreads

“I’m leaving”

Ok it’s bad enough when you hear it from a husband/lover/partner, but when your hairdresser of 14 years says it ..

It must be fate as only last month I was in deep conversation with another of her clients about what we would do if Jo ever left to have another adventure.  There have been previous attempts to escape us – a jungle trek to Machu Picchu and an ill fated trip to Australia that we don’t talk about (there was a man involved) to name two.

My hair has always had the upper hand.  When all around me seemed perfectly made-up and coiffured, I resembled an amazonian beach bum.

adrian-valencia

I met Jo when my life was at it’s lowest ebb and my self-esteem had crashed and burned along with my marriage.  I was about to be ‘best man’ at my brother’s wedding and needed to do something once and for all.  As well as listening to all my woes, she turned my haystack in to Disney princess golden tresses and through skill and patience has kept it that way ever since.  She helped me face the World with confidence even when inside I felt like melting ice cream.

So to Jo, and good hairdressers everywhere, THANK YOU for you will never know how much you mean to us until the day you go and leave

One thought

  1. Amen to that! Terrible news indeed and one of the first thoughts that popped into my head when my husband landed his job in Brisbane – oh no! I’ll have to find a new hairdresser. Easier said than done. Good luck with your search.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

