30 Day Journaling Challenge – Day Two

Day two and today’s subject – Inner Child

I can pretty much pinpoint my childhood as the place where I built a wall around my heart and withdrew on to my own little island.  The baggage I collected there I’ve dragged with me throughout my life  .. until recently.

One day during meditation at the yoga retreat I had a mini meltdown, I ran off in to the garden and sat on the grass and sobbed.  I was so tired of carrying this heavy load from my past, it held no place in my new life, I wanted rid of it once and for all.

I made the decision to stop blaming people who have hurt me.  It’s not a case of forgiving them, I’ve accepted they did the best they could.  Perhaps we are all victims of victims.  I came in to this life for me and it’s up to me to create the amazing life I want.  So, I brushed off the hurt like dust and threw it in to the wind ..

That evening our yoga teacher read out a poem, this was a turning point for me and I’m sharing it with you today

She Let Go – Rev. Safire Rose

She let go.

Without a thought or a word, she let go.

She let go of the fear. She let go of the judgments. She let go of the confluence of opinions swarming around her head.  She let go of the committee of indecision within her. She let go of all the ‘right’ reasons. Wholly and completely, without hesitation or worry, she just let go.

She didn’t ask anyone for advice. She didn’t read a book on how to let go. She didn’t search the scriptures. She just let go.

She let go of all of the memories that held her back. She let go of all of the anxiety that kept her from moving forward. She let go of the planning and all of the calculations about how to do it just right.

She didn’t promise to let go. She didn’t journal about it. She didn’t write the projected date in her Day-Timer. She made no public announcement and put no ad in the paper. She didn’t check the weather report or read her daily horoscope. She just let go.

She didn’t analyze whether she should let go. She didn’t call her friends to discuss the matter. She didn’t do a five-step Spiritual Mind Treatment. She didn’t call the prayer line. She didn’t utter one word. She just let go.

No one was around when it happened. There was no applause or congratulations. No one thanked her or praised her. No one noticed a thing. Like a leaf falling from a tree, she just let go.

There was no effort. There was no struggle. It wasn’t good and it wasn’t bad. It was what it was, and it is just that.

In the space of letting go, she let it all be.

A small smile came over her face. A light breeze blew through her.

And the sun and the moon shone forevermore.

 

3 thoughts

    1. I think you reach a point in life where you are so tired of dragging around all the old baggage you just decide ‘no more’. We spend so much time and energy in giving to other people and ‘things’ and avoid ourselves, it’s easier. You will find your point, you will just know, and you will gently let go. Sending love and hugs to you Lucy x

      Like

Leave a comment